What is dementia?

Dementia is the term used to describe the symptoms of a large group of illnesses which cause a progressive decline in a person’s functioning. It is a broad term used to describe a loss of memory, intellect, rationality, social skills and physical functioning. There are many types of dementia including Alzheimer’s disease, vascular dementia, frontotemporal dementia and Lewy body disease. Dementia can happen to anybody, but it is more common after the age of 65.

Dementia Action week 2023 is from Monday, 18 September to Sunday, 24 September.  It is an initiative aimed at raising awareness about dementia, challenging stigma associated with the condition and encouraging people to take action to support individuals and families who are affected by dementia.

This year’s theme is Act Now for a Dementia Friendly Future.

Communities that take action to become dementia-friendly have:

  • less fear and a greater understanding of dementia
  • less stigma and discrimination
  • more support and better systems for people living with dementia to live well in their community for longer

For more information see:  Dementia Action Week | Dementia Australia

Nightingale Program

The Nightingale Program is dementia-specific palliative care support, provided by specialist nurses and an Occupational Therapist throughout South Australia for advanced dementia care.

The specialist nurses can help develop care strategies to enable people living with dementia:

  • stay at home longer and maximise their independence
  • promote quality of life and positive relationships
  • have a voice in their future care options and decision making
  • avoid unnecessary presentations to acute hospital settings
  • have clinical advice including co-morbidity management, pain management, delirium and palliation

For more information see the  Nightingale Program brochure. In Country South Australia, the Nightingale Program is proudly funded by Country SA PHN.

To access the Nightingale Program

Share this article