Reconciliation Action Plan

A person-centred health system for community

Closing the gap in health inequity for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples

Country SA PHN is committed to working together with Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander communities, organisations, and Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples to ensure a responsive, holistic and person-centred health system that contributes to closing the gap in health inequity. A significant number of the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander population in South Australia resides within the Country SA PHN service area. Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples are an important part of the communities of country SA.

Each Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander community enriched and enriching in different histories, cultures, languages and experiences that form part of our collective perspectives. The exchange that occurs in terms of the learning and understanding of what health service needs and responses there are in our community, as well as what could be possible based on our context, contributes to effecting change in health outcomes and is key to a healthier country South Australia.

Map of Indigenous Australia

The map represent the language, social or nation groups of Aboriginal Australia.

Read More

Reflect Reconciliation Action Plan

The Journey

The Reflect Reconciliation Action Plan represents the first steps to undertaking the Reconciliation journey. It is focussed on providing a solid platform for the organisation in which to undertake further work and grow reconciliation actions, both internally and within its own sphere of influence.

RAP Champions

Our two RAP Champions are from the Board of Directors, Dr Alison Edwards, Chair of the Board, and Wayne Oldfield, Board Director. Planning for the Reflect Reconciliation Action Plan was undertaken by the RAP Working Group formed in August 2019.

Kim Hosking
Chief Executive Officer
Dr Alison Edwards
Board Chair & RAP Champion
Wayne Oldfield
Board Director & RAP Champion
Reconciliation Week 'Take Action'
Reflect Reconciliation Action Plan

In light of the current COVID-19 environment, Reconciliation Australia has granted an extension of our Reflect Reconciliation Action Plan to October 2021.

Country SA PHN (CSAPHN) is committed to working together with Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander communities, organisations and peoples.

Read More

Aboriginal communities

Groups with diverse language, culture and history

Within the Country SA PHN service area there are many Aboriginal communities or nations (as preferred by different groups), which are diverse in language, culture and history. These include: 

  • Buandig(k) 
  • Bindjali
  • Ngargad 
  • Meru 
  • Ngarrindjeri  
  • Kuyani
  • Banggarla
  • Nawu
  • Wirangu
  • Kokatha
  • Mirning
  • Ngalea
  • Nakako
  • Pitjantjatjara
  • Yankunytjatjara
  • Antakaringa
  • Arabunna
  • Kaurna  
  • Narungga  
  • Nukunu 
  • Ngadjuri 
  • Adnyamathanha 
  • Dhirari
  • Dieri
  • Ngamini
  • Karangura
  • Wangkungurru
  • Yarluyandi
  • Yawarawarka
  • Yandruwandha
  • Pirlatapa
  • Malyangaba
  • Wiljali
  • Danggali

RAP Working Group

Members of the RAP Working Group include representatives from each team within CSAPHN.

Reg Harris (Chair)Director, Mental Health, Alcohol & Other Drugs and Aboriginal HealthMental Health, Alcohol & Other Drugs and Aboriginal Health.
Jess ScottManager, Aboriginal HealthAboriginal Health
Anthea Kemp (Secretariat)Assistant Manager, Aboriginal HealthAboriginal Health
Helen ExleyProgram ManagerHealth Integration & Coordination
Tess MurtonProject SupportPerformance, Quality & Information
Suzanne DelaneyManager - Contract & Compliance Corporate Services
Jane CooperPractice Support OfficerPerformance, Quality & Information
Sarah WilesManager, Digital Health & Systems IntegrationDigital Health & Systems Integration
Jane WilliamsPractice Support OfficerPerformance, Quality & Information
Kate DorseyCommunications OfficerCommunications
Brenton ChappellManager – Community CollaborationsHealth Integration & Coordination
Brent MatthewsIntegrated Care Program CoordinatorHealth Integration & Coordination